West Indies vs Sri Lanka ICC Cricket World Cup 2007

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Cricket World Cup Live Audio Video

ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 on TV Internet Streaming Dish
Broadcast from 2007 March 13 to April 28

Cricket World Cup on TV, Internet and Mobile Phones

The ICC Cricket World Cup All Inclusive Package $199.95

World Cup Cricket Live on TV: Live Broadcasting

TV : All Live Matches, Full Replays, Highlights, Interactive TV Application - Get Dish + Full World Cup Cricket Package

World Cup Cricket on Internet: Live Streaming

Internet: Full coverage (limited to one Internet Address), Interactive Highlights, Live audio - Get Dish + Full World Cup Cricket Package

World Cup Cricket on Mobile: Live Audio

Mobile: Ball-by-Ball coverage on your mobile phone, Discounted access to unlimited SMS updates - Get Dish + Full World Cup Cricket Package

ICC World Cup Cricket Match 2007

West Indies vs Sri Lanka

Super 8, Match 6, WI vs SL: Sri Lanka beat West Indies by 113 runs

West Indies Cricket team Sri Lanka Cricket team Sri Lanka outplayed West Indies to condemn the hosts to their third defeat in three matches in the World Cup.
The Windies are in danger of failing to make the last four, even if they win their last three Super 8 games. After a slow start, Sanath Jayasuriya (115) and Mahela Jayawardene (82) added 183 for the third wicket in 30 overs. The eventual total was 303-5, before the West Indies responded with an uneven batting performance. They were all out for 190, losing by 113 runs. Reported Earlier: Sri Lanka opener Sanath Jayasuriya hit a memorable century to lead his side to a formidable 303-5 in their 50 overs against West Indies in Guyana. Reported Earlier: West Indies captain Brian Lara won the toss and elected to bowl first in a crucial Super Eight Series match against Sri Lanka at Guyana on Sunday as heavy rains delayed start of play by about 45 minutes.
After back-to-back heavy losses to defending champions Australia and New Zealand, the West Indies must beat 1996 champion Sri Lanka to have any chance of reaching the semifinals.
The Sri Lankans topped Group B with wins over India, Bangladesh and Bermuda. But they had a batting failure against South Africa to open the Super 8s and only an unprecedented four-wicket burst by Lasith Malinga reduced the deficit to one wicket. West Indies have made two notable changes in their squad with Ian Bradshaw and Jerome Taylor replacing Lendl Simmons, the controversial selection against New Zealand, and Corey Collymore. West Indies team: Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Marlon Samuels, Brian Lara (Captain), Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith, Denesh Ramdin (wicket-keeper), Ian Bradshaw, Daren Powell, Jerome Taylor
Sri Lanka team: Upul Tharanga, Sanath Jayasuriya, Mahela Jayawardene (Captain), Kumar Sangakkara (wicket-keeper), Chamara Silva, Russel Arnold, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chaminda Vaas, Dilhara Fernando, Muttiah Muralitharan, Lasith Malinga
World Cup Super 8, Match 6, Guyana: Sri Lanka 303-5 (50.0 overs) beat West Indies 190-10 (44.4 overs) by 113 runs

Super 8, Match 6, WI vs SL: Brian Lara, Muttiah Muralitharan set for intriguing battle

West Indies Cricket team Sri Lanka Cricket team Sparks are bound to fly when West Indies skipper Brian Lara bats against ace Sri Lankan off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan in a World Cup Super Eights match on Sunday.
The pair was involved in an engrossing duel in a three-Test series in Sri Lanka in 2001; with Lara proving why is considered one of the best batsmen against spin in modern cricket.
If there was any West Indian batsman who succeeded in dominating the Sri Lankan spinner, it was Lara who plundered 688 runs in three matches with three centuries on slow turning pitches. But it was never easy upstaging champion spinner Murali, who kept probing the batsmen with his subtle variations to play a big role in his team's 3-0 series victory with 24 wickets. West Indies team (from): B Lara (Captain), R Sarwan, C Gayle, Dwayne Smith, S Chanderpaul, D Bravo, M Samuels, I Bradshaw, C Collymore, J Taylor, D Ramdin, Devon Smith, L Simmons, D Powell, K Pollard.
Sri Lanka team (from): M Jayawardene (Captain), K Sangakkara, S Jayasuriya, U Tharanga, M Atapattu, T Dilshan, R Arnold, C Silva, C Vaas, F Maharoof, L Malinga, D Fernando, N Kulasekara, M Muralitharan, M Bandara.

Cricket Results

ICC Cricket World Cup 2007

Subscribe to World Cup Cricket XML/RSS Feeds
Subscribe to Latest Cricket News XML/RSS Feeds
All World Cup Cricket matches in West Indies start at 09:30 local time (14:30GMT). The first match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 will be played on March 13, 2007 at Sabina Park in Kingston, Jamaica, between the host West Indies and Pakistan.

West Indies vs Sri Lanka Scorecard

West Indies won the toss and decided to field
303 for 5 (50.0 overs)
190 all out (44.4 overs)

Sri Lanka Innings
W U Tharanga
b D B Powell
24 1 0
S T Jayasuriya
b D B Powell
101 10 4
K C Sangakkara c D Ramdin b I D R Bradshaw
10 1 0
D P M D Jayawardene
b D J Bravo
113 2 1
L P C Silva c B C Lara b R R Sarwan
31 0 0
T M Dilshan not out
22 2 2
R P Arnold not out
4 0 0
5nb 13w 7lb 25
for 5 303 (50.0 ovs)

J E Taylor 8.0 1 32 0
D B Powell 10.0 1 38 2
I D R Bradshaw 10.0 0 67 1
D R Smith 3.0 0 23 0
C H Gayle 9.0 0 61 0
D J Bravo 7.0 0 59 1
R R Sarwan 3.0 0 16 1
Fall of wicket
18 W U Tharanga
35 K C Sangakkara
218 S T Jayasuriya
251 D P M D Jayawardene
268 L P C Silva

West Indies Innings
C H Gayle c C R D Fernando b S L Malinga
21 1 0
D J Bravo
b W P U J C Vaas
24 3 0
S Chanderpaul
b S L Malinga
110 1 5
B C Lara st K C Sangakkara b W P U J C Vaas
4 0 0
R R Sarwan st K C Sangakkara b S T Jayasuriya
68 1 1
M N Samuels lbw b M Muralitharan
5 0 0
D R Smith run out
2 0 0
D Ramdin c W P U J C Vaas b S T Jayasuriya
5 0 0
I D R Bradshaw not out
18 0 0
J E Taylor lbw b M Muralitharan
9 2 0
D B Powell
b S T Jayasuriya
4 0 0
2nb 8w 1lb 11
all out 190 (44.4 ovs)

W P U J C Vaas 8.0 1 19 2
S L Malinga 5.0 0 34 2
C R D Fernando 7.0 3 19 0
T M Dilshan 4.0 0 11 0
R P Arnold 3.0 0 9 0
M Muralitharan 9.0 0 59 2
S T Jayasuriya 8.4 0 38 3
Fall of wicket
20 C H Gayle
40 D J Bravo
42 B C Lara
134 R R Sarwan
147 M N Samuels
148 D R Smith
158 D Ramdin
173 S Chanderpaul
187 J E Taylor
190 D B Powell

Umpires: M R Benson, D J Harper
West Indies: S Chanderpaul, C H Gayle, R R Sarwan, M N Samuels, B C Lara, D J Bravo, D Ramdin, D R Smith, D B Powell, J E Taylor, I D R Bradshaw
Sri Lanka: S T Jayasuriya, W U Tharanga, D P M D Jayawardene, K C Sangakkara, L P C Silva, T M Dilshan, R P Arnold, W P U J C Vaas, C R D Fernando, S L Malinga, M Muralitharan

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.