Cricket World Cup History, Champions

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Cricket World Cup Live Audio Video

ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 on TV Internet Streaming Dish
Broadcast from 2007 March 13 to April 28

Cricket World Cup on TV, Internet and Mobile Phones

The ICC Cricket World Cup All Inclusive Package $199.95

World Cup Cricket Live on TV: Live Broadcasting

TV : All Live Matches, Full Replays, Highlights, Interactive TV Application - Get Dish + Full World Cup Cricket Package

World Cup Cricket on Internet: Live Streaming

Internet: Full coverage (limited to one Internet Address), Interactive Highlights, Live audio - Get Dish + Full World Cup Cricket Package

World Cup Cricket on Mobile: Live Audio

Mobile: Ball-by-Ball coverage on your mobile phone, Discounted access to unlimited SMS updates - Get Dish + Full World Cup Cricket Package

ICC World Cup Cricket History, Previous Champions

Cricket World Cup 2007


The Cricket World Cup was first held in 1975 in England, with eight teams participating: Australia, England, the West Indies, Pakistan, India, and New Zealand (the six Test nations at the time), with Sri Lanka and a composite team from East Africa.
The first three tournaments were held in England. N. K. P. Salve, President of the BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) recounts the awarding of hosting rights for the 1987 World Cup in his book The Story of the Reliance Cup. According to Salve, he was given two tickets for the 1983 World Cup final at Lord's. When India unexpectedly qualified for the final, he requested two additional tickets from the MCC for friends who had just arrived from India. The MCC refused his request. Following this rebuff, Salve campaigned heavily amongst associate members of the International Cricket Council to form a bloc of voters, who ultimately awarded the hosting of the 1987 World Cup jointly to India and Pakistan.
Since 1987, the hosting of the World Cup been shared by the major cricket playing regions of the world - England, the Indian subcontinent, Australasia, Southern Africa and the West Indies. The tournaments have been based mainly in the local superpowers, though matches are held in all regional cricketing nations.
The World Cup is held in high esteem amongst fans, players, and administrators, unlike many of the myriad of one-day tournaments held around the world each year. It has been the scene of some of the major developments in the way one-day cricket is played.

Previous World Cup Cricket Finals Results, Champions

Cricket World Cup 1975 "West Indies"

Venue : Lords, England
Result : West Indies beat Australia.
West Indies won by 17 runs. Scored 291 runs in 60 overs for 8 wickets.
Australia scored 274 in 58.4 overs all out.

Cricket World Cup 1979 "West Indies"

Venue : Lords, England
Result : West Indies beat England
West Indies won by 92 Runs & scored 286 runs in 60 overs for 9 Wickets
England scored 191 in 50 overs all out.

Cricket World Cup 1983 "India "

Venue : Lords, England
Result : India beat West Indies.
India beat West Indies by 43 runs & scored 183 in 54.4 overs all out.
West Indies scored 140 in 52 overs all out.

Cricket World Cup 1987 "Australia "

Venue : Calcutta, India.
Result : Australia beat England.
Australia won by 7 runs & scored 253 in 50 overs for 5 Wickets.
England scored 246 in 50 overs for 8 wickets.

Cricket World Cup 1992 "Pakistan "

Venue : Melbourne, Australia.
Result : Pakistan beat England.
Pakistan won by 22 runs & scored 249 in 50 overs for 6 wickets.
England scored 227 runs for 49.2 overs all out.

Cricket World Cup 1996 "Sri Lanka "

Venue : Lahore Pakistan.
Result : Sri Lanka beat Australia.
Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets & scored 245 in 46.2 overs for 3 wickets.
Australia scored 241 in 50 overs for 7 wickets.

Cricket World Cup 1999 "Australia "

Venue : Lords, England
Result : Australia beat Pakistan.
Australia won 8 wickets & scored 133 in 20.1 for 2 wickets
Pakistan scored 132 in 39 overs all out.

Cricket World Cup 2003 " South Africa "

Venue : The Wanderers, Johannesburg, South Africa.
Result : Australia beat India by 125 runs & Scored 359 for 2 wickets.
India scored 234 in 39.2 overs all out.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.