Ireland vs England ICC Cricket World Cup 2007

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Cricket World Cup Live Audio Video

ICC World Cup Cricket Match 2007

Ireland vs England at Guyana

Super 8, Match 4, ENG vs IRL: Unconvincing England sink Ireland

England Cricket team Ireland Cricket team England recorded a 48-run Super 8 victory against Ireland, but were some way from their best form in Guyana. Paul Collingwood struck three sixes in an assured 90, sharing 81 with Andrew Flintoff (43) after Kevin Pietersen fired a rapid 48 in England's 266-7. In pursuit of 267, Ireland lost Jeremy Bray in the opening over but Niall O'Brien made a gritty 63 from 88 balls. Monty Panesar and Michael Vaughan piled pressure on but late runs were conceded until Flintoff wrapped it up with 4-43. Anything but a win Friday would have been a disaster for England, advancing from the first round for the first time since 1996, against the World Cup debutants.
English captain Michael Vaughan won the toss and elected to bat against Ireland in Georgetown. World Cup debutantes Ireland tied with Zimbabwe in the group stage before producing a stunning three-wicket win over Pakistan which effectively sent the sub-continent side home. England team: M P Vaughan, E C Joyce, I R Bell, K P Pietersen, P D Collingwood, A Flintoff, R Bopara, P A Nixon, S I Mahmood, J M Anderson, M S Panesar
Ireland team: J P Bray, W T S Porterfield, E J G Morgan, N J O'Brien, K J O'Brien, A C Botha, D T Johnston, W K McCallan, A R White, D Langford-Smith, W B Rankin

Super 8, Match 4, ENG vs IRL: England wary of debutants Ireland in Super 8

England Cricket team Ireland Cricket team England are wary of giant-killers and debutants Ireland as the two meet in the first Super Eight game of the World Cup in Guyana on Friday.
Ireland have already made a significant impact in the World Cup by knocking out former champions Pakistan from the group stage and England know they need to improve on the form they showed in beating Canada and Kenya. All-rounder Andrew Flintoff is expected to play for England on the morrow after suffering a stomach upset earlier this week.
Ireland should be boosted by the return of captain Trent Johnston following a shoulder injury. Ireland were certainly not disgraced when the two sides met in Belfast last summer, replying to England's total of 301-7 with 263-9 in a 38-run defeat. England team (from): M Vaughan (Captain), J Anderson, I Bell, R Bopara, P Collingwood, J Dalrymple, A Flintoff, E Joyce, J Lewis, S Mahmood, P Nixon, M Panesar, K Pietersen, L Plunkett, A Strauss.
Ireland team (from): T Johnston (Captain), A Botha, J Bray, K Carroll, P Gillespie, D Langford-Smith, K McCallan, J Mooney, P Mooney, E Morgan, K O'Brien, N O'Brien, W Porterfield, B Rankin, A White.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2007

Subscribe to World Cup Cricket XML/RSS Feeds
Subscribe to Latest Cricket News XML/RSS Feeds
All World Cup Cricket matches in West Indies start at 09:30 local time (14:30GMT). The first match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 will be played on March 13, 2007 at Sabina Park in Kingston, Jamaica, between the host West Indies and Pakistan.

Ireland vs England Scorecard

England beat Ireland by 48 runs
England won the toss and decided to bat
266 for 7 (50.0 overs)
218 all out (48.1 overs)

England Innings
E C Joyce
b W B Rankin
5 0 0
M P Vaughan c N J O'Brien b W B Rankin
13 1 0
I R Bell c N J O'Brien b K J O'Brien
74 2 0
K P Pietersen c W T S Porterfield b W K McCallan
47 5 0
P D Collingwood run out
82 8 3
A Flintoff
b D T Johnston
62 4 0
P A Nixon c E J G Morgan b A C Botha
15 1 1
R S Bopara not out
5 1 0
S I Mahmood not out
0 0 0
3nb 13w 2lb 18
for 7 266 (50.0 ovs)

D Langford-Smith 7.0 0 38 0
W B Rankin 7.0 1 28 2
D T Johnston 10.0 0 70 1
A C Botha 10.0 1 56 1
K J O'Brien 4.0 0 26 1
W K McCallan 10.0 0 38 1
A R White 2.0 0 8 0
Fall of wicket
6 E C Joyce
23 M P Vaughan
89 I R Bell
113 K P Pietersen
194 A Flintoff
245 P A Nixon
258 P D Collingwood

Ireland Innings
W T S Porterfield c I R Bell b A Flintoff
69 1 0
J P Bray c R S Bopara b J M Anderson
1 0 0
E J G Morgan run out
7 0 0
N J O'Brien st P A Nixon b M P Vaughan
88 4 0
A C Botha c A Flintoff b M S Panesar
39 1 0
K J O'Brien lbw b M S Panesar
19 1 0
D T Johnston
b A Flintoff
21 1 2
A R White c P A Nixon b P D Collingwood
35 4 0
W K McCallan
b A Flintoff
6 0 0
D Langford-Smith lbw b A Flintoff
2 0 0
W B Rankin not out
8 0 0
5nb 9w 3lb 17
all out 218 (48.1 ovs)

J M Anderson 7.0 1 35 1
S I Mahmood 8.0 2 34 0
A Flintoff 8.1 1 43 4
P D Collingwood 6.0 0 38 1
M S Panesar 10.0 1 31 2
M P Vaughan 9.0 0 34 1
Fall of wicket
6 J P Bray
11 E J G Morgan
72 W T S Porterfield
116 A C Botha
139 K J O'Brien
139 N J O'Brien
197 D T Johnston
209 A R White
210 D Langford-Smith
218 W K McCallan

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.